Tuesday, February 10, 2009

A Political Victroy, A Window War, Or A Shooting War?

At the Sipsey Street Irregulars blog, the Window War article/story has been revived.

Claire Wolfe, in the foregoing decade, wrote:
"America is at that awkward stage. It's too late to work within the system, but too early to shoot the bastards."

The awkward stage is getting increasingly uncomfortable. Americans who understand liberty are getting backed closer and closer to a corner.

Will we have a Window War, or will we allow ourselves to be backed all the way into the corner?

The Germans waited until they were backed into a corner and then kept waiting, and ended up dead.
The American revolutionaries saw the corner getting closer and got busy.

What will we do?

I Am Now A Published Author!

A while back, I went to urbandictionary.com to see what sort of definition they had for psychological nudity, out of curiosity. Anyone who has listened to Michael Savage for any length of time should already know what it means.

There was no definition! I wrote one and submitted it, and a few days later it came back with a rejection notice.

Then, months and months later, I got a notice that it had been published. Well, better late than never I suppose.

Go read it.

EEEeeeewwwwwwww

I won't ruin your breakfast with a photo, but trust me, that was gross.

REmember, I live in near Austin, allergy capitol of the country.

When I woke up this morning, I could barely breathe through my nose, and that only through one nostril. I blew my nose and . . .

. . .well, nevermind what happened, but it was gross!

Monday, February 9, 2009

What's THIS? Shut Down The City!

Photobucket

The ground is wet! There is water falling from the sky!

(this looks to be a hopeful start to the end of a 3-year drought in Central Texas. We'll see).

I left a couple of minutes before normal but thank God I made it to work on time. There wasn't even a slew of wrecks, they only shut down the major interstate highway in 2 locations. I half expected at least 6 crashes but the streets were only wet, not wet and slick. (That's a Southern California joke, for those who have never driven there)

It rained all night, alternating heavy/very light rain, perfect for rinsing the oil slick off the highways and giving the ground time to get saturated, instead of just flash-flooding.

Thanks, Lord, you know we have been needing some rain for a long time!

Saturday, February 7, 2009

Range Report 07 Feb. 2009

We managed to make it out to MV's place to get some shooting done. My Darling Wife was tired and didn't want to shoot, but she took the chance to socialize with the ladies up at the house. #2 and #1 were running around outside with the dogs having a great time. #2 must be growing again. He was falling a lot. Once, I saw him take a nasty spill when he was jogging and caught his feet on the steel cable restraining one of the dogs. Straight down, straight up again and back to a jog. He's a good boy. Clumsy sometimes, but he got back up.

Anyhow, we brought out a variety pack:
Photobucket

There were a pair of scoped .22LR self loaders, an SKS, a 1911 A1, a Glock 22, a Kel-Tek P3AT, a .357 magnum revolver and carbine, a 12 gauge shotgun, a .30-06 Enfield, and a pellet rifle in case the kids ever came down to shoot and didn't want to try anything bigger.

MV and I went down his property a ways to where there is an escarpment about 20 feet high that we used for a backstop. The target support was the remains of a few sacks of quikrete that were left out laying flat and got rained on, set up into blocks, and then were stacked up against some sturdy trees. They make an astonishingly good stop for low-power rounds, and will even take direct hits from full-power long guns without falling apart very fast. We figured they would disintegrate pretty thoroughly from high-powered shots, so we went with .22 rifles and handguns first.

I have some 4" diameter yellow stickers that are great for improvised target designation. They don't adhere very well to crumbling concrete but that just means they don't have to be removed when they are shot up. In fact, even with the .22 rifles, when a chunk of concrete spalls off, the target sticker would just jump right off the face of the target! It is sort of a poor man's reactive target setup. Some stayed on long enough to show pretty impressive marksmanship:
Photobucket

(this one had a 1" diameter smudge of lead behind it on the rock). Some were an indication of a near miss or a hit. When the .357 carbine, for example, was hitting close by, the concrete would explode a little bit and the target would go FLYING off. Most gratifying.

We started about arm's length apart and MV started with the .357 revolver and I started with the .45. After the first shots, I made an exclamation about the shock wave coming off the sides of the .357. He mentioned that the .45 was pushing him around a little, also. We separated by another yard and kept blazing away. We switched and when I first shot the .357, HE made an exclamation about the shock wave coming off the .357, and how much more oomph it had than the blast from the .45. These two are the top of the heap when it comes to carry sidearm calibers, and it was interesting to compare the recoil effects side by side. The .45 pushes but it pushes slower, and straight back. The .357 is, shall we say, brisk in comparison. It pushes both back and up, and those both relatively hard. It was smashing the top of my middle finger with the trigger guard, which hurt a little, or else I would have shot it a bit more.

My Marlin 60 was a delight to shoot. The first time I loaded it up, it had some shorter overall-length cartridges and it took 20 of them! It was like a bottomless well compared to the 6 and 7+1 shots of the other guns we had been shooting so far. It was also accurate enough for squirrels (or pigeons but don't tell my neighbors that) and didn't kick hardly at all. The recoil from that weapon is so slight, I could watch my targets with both eyes: little clouds of dust with the open left eye, and the individual target jumping around with the right eye through the scope.

What? You close one eye when you use a scope? WHAT? you close one eye when you shoot anything? Next time you go out shooting, try keeping them both open. Situational awareness is greatly enhanced and, when shooting a scoped weapon, you can easily (easily with practice I guess) track your targets with one eye and aim with the other. It enhances the experience, but it does take some getting used to. Give it a shot!

Just as we were running out of ammunition for the pistols, MV's father came down to join us. My hosts were really smart about range safety. We were shooting at the bottom of an escarpment, but their house is up top of the hill. We were shooting at an angle to put the rounds between the houses, besides shooting into a hillside. AND they had walkie-talkies for communication between shooters and houses. They called down when they wanted to leave the houses and when MV's dad was going to come join us. At any rate, the old man ran half a magazine through the .45 and was impressed with the very poor sights on it, which even our younger eyes had trouble with: Photobucket

Then he went from the 45 to the .357. He was pretty impressed with the recoil and report of the .357 even compared to the .45. I read once that the only reason to put up with the excessive recoil, report, and muzzle blast of the .357 Magnum revolver is the devastating effect it has on human flesh. From the way it smacked up those concrete blocks, I believe it. It was raining chunks on us from ~8 yards away!

Out of ammunition for most of our pistols, we went to the long guns. The .22s were so gentle and quiet, we could almost ignore it when they were shot. Everyone stood to watch when the bigger rifles were fired. The effect was predictably impressive. We backed up to somewhere around 25-30 yards for safety from the flying debris when the target was struck by the higher powered arms and went to town.

Surprisingly, the 7.62x39 and .357Mag carbine had about the same perceived recoil, with the SKS just a little bit softer due to the squishy butt pad it has. That was a little surprising, but consider:
Photobucket
The cases are about the same size and the bullet weights are within 20% of each other. Interesting. Also interesting was the effect on the target. The SKS was shooting pointed FMJ ammunition. The .357 was shooting heavier, semi-jacketed, wad cutter, soft pointed ammunition. The SKS put the hurt on the concrete, but the .357 just wailed on it. Chunks and chips went flying every which way when the .357 carbine hit and they rained down on a shed at least 20 yards away, sounding like bird shot on the tin roof. Most impressive. I would not consider anyone to be outgunned with a .357 revolver and carbine combination, unless their opponent was wearing armor or far enough away to be using a real rifle. I thought the SKS was more fun to shoot, because there was no lever to pump and the recoil was a little tiny bit softer. It does have peep sights though, so the scoped .357 carbine had the advantage for easy hits for those of us with *ahem* older glasses.

One nice thing about shooting on private land is that you can cook off the rounds as fast as you like. I did it with the SKS but muzzle climb limits how fast you can fire with any accuracy. I did it a couple of times while advancing with the Kel-Tec which is my regular carry pistol, and I did it a few times, including once while advancing, with the Marlin. You know what? It is the most fun I ever had shooting (and that is saying a LOT) when I was emptying a full magazine while advancing on a target. We're going to have to try to find a way to integrate that activity into the Schutzenfest.

Once again I was reminded how snappy that P3AT is to shoot. It truly kicks about as hard as the 1911, but it's harder to hold on to. MV remembered and didn't want to shoot it, and his dad took his word for it. This was also my first time second time firing it one-handed, as well as one-handed while advancing and moving laterally. I hope I'll never have to use that thing when there are people behind the Goblin, because, even at conversational distance, accuracy is poor thanks to the short barrel. Sure you can get a fist-sized group out of your P3AT on the range, two handed, slow-fire. Try it advancing, one-handed, rapid-fire sometime and see what you get!

OH! I found out what happened to those crazy dented-mouth .22 cases from last time. After a hunner't-fifty or 200 rounds including some filthy dirty Remington ammunition, the works were well and truly gumming up. The charging handle was getting stubborn by the time this happened:
Photobucket

The marlin kept shooting after that, but it probably would have started jamming worse and worse if I kept shooting for another hundred rounds or so. Also I found out the Marlin is accurate enough to hit a 4" target from ~40-50 yards, and when all the targets are shot off the concrete, it is accurate enough to chase a 1" diameter stick around the bottom of the concrete pile (toward the end of the shooting session, it was more of a gravel pile than a stack of blocks). Oh, and that was from offhand. I still haven't got it sighted in from a stable rest. Oh well, good enough for good fun!

Firing the shotgun was interesting. MV had a Bad Experience when he was younger with punishing recoil from a single-shot 20 gauge shotgun, so he was a little shy of shooting the 12. I gave him a few pointers on how to stand (see post #83, here)to absorb the recoil properly and he did fine, but he still was a bit more impressed by the recoil of the shotgun than I was. His father declined to fire the 12 gauge. I thought it was fun, and the shotgun pointed fairly well for me, plenty good enough to blast the heck out of the cement. We put a few rounds of buckshot through it first. Then MV put one slug out of it, and that was enough slug shooting for him. I put the other four slugs through it in quick succession, and the last one went all the way through what was left of the cement and into the escarpment behind it. Yowza!

My Darling Wife was getting tired and MV's wife had to go to work so we knocked off after about 3 hours of shooting. Well, it was almost enough range time for one day, anyway!

********

Spent case post-mortem:

The .45 is slinging them against itself, not the wall. The flat spot looks like it was rubbed as the cartridge spun out of the weapon, and is almost directly across from the ejector. Most of the cases show nearly identical damage, so I'm going to say I was wrong, it is the gun itself denting the cases on their way out. The extractor is hard on the heads, too.
Photobucket

The .40 is doing something similar, but instead of denting the cases much, it is creasing them in the same general area, and most of them also display a wiped-dent at one side of the mouth. More disturbingly, and I think it is probably typical Glock behaviour, all the spent brass iss visibly bulged at the back of the case. I found a shell on the ground that was expended last time we went shooting at MV's place, and it showed identical damage. Let's guess which gun fired that one, eh?
Photobucket

It was pretty obvious from looking at the 12 gauge shot shells which were for rifled slugs & which were from shot. The slug has a round mouth, the shot has a star-flared mouth.
Photobucket

The SKS put a dent from ejection on all the cases, and that was the only damage they all share. There are various nicks on the steel, but that might be because it was flinging the empties 15+ feet onto rocky ground.
Photobucket

We never found any of the .30-06 cases, but that was partly because it was only fired 4 times. Nobody else wanted to shoot it. Oh well.

********

Man Alive is it ever fun to shoot guns at stuff that blows up a little bit when you shoot it. Accurate guns are even more fun, and a variety of guns is good great fun. It also helps when half the guns have historical significance that you can tell each other about, and one of your shooting party is an old man who knows how to tell a good story about when he was growing up in Africa. If you're not shooting for recreation, you are really missing out.

Friday, February 6, 2009

Senator Stabenow: Legislation for The Family

Senatrix Debbie Stabenow D(unce)-Michigan has come out in support of the highly controversial "fairness doctrine".

The what?

Fairness Doctrine: a principle that says, if one side of an argument is going to present a viewpoint, the other must be given equal time on the public airwaves. Sounds good right? Well, if people were all good it might be (and socialism/communism/etc would work). But here's the rub: the principle effect would be to kill off issues-based talk radio.

How?

There are folks out there who hate the fact that conservative talk radio informs the people what their Elected Heroes are up to, because then the Loud People get agitated, contact their representatives, and kill off all the really juicy leftist stuff before it even gets out of committee. How are we ever going to get away with all the things we want to do, if the People know we are trying to do it?.

So they listen to the talk radio shows. Under the unFairness Doctrine, they hear something they don't like and call and protest. Then some whiny [deleted] gets to go on the air and rant. Nobody wants to listen to a whiny [deleted] who can't string a sentence together, so the people turn the channel. This happens a few thousand times and radio advertisement ceases to be effective and program directors shut off the conservative syndicated talkers in favor of local or non-political programming. The main source of information for some of the Loud People is cut off, and the leftists get busy playing while their constituents try to find out what is happening.

But why is Stabenow coming out in favor of the Censorship Doctrine? Oh, certainly it is purely in the interest of fairness and not related to the fact that Tom Athans (her husband) is elbows-deep in left-wing talk radio. You know, the kind of radio that fails commercially everywhere it is tried, because no one wants to listen to it. No conflict of interest is possible, when it is for the greater good, comrade!

Well, That Was A Bit of a Revelation.

My Darling Wife went to a friend's house for a play date for the children and conversation for the mothers. She called to let me know where she was going, and asked if I had a problem with the fact that the friend's husband would be at the house.

Now, just so you know, these people are down in my book as Good People. I am 99.999% not worried that she is going to end up raped, throat cut, in a ditch somewhere, by their hands. Still, she has had a Bad Experience so she sometimes has some anxiety at stepping out when I'm not with her.

I told her no, go ahead, and if anything Bad happens, I'll just go over there and kill 'em.

***

Reflecting on that statement, I find it was a flippant half-joke, but there is a pretty good chance that it was also accurate.

As you might have thought, if you had read the end of this essay about me.

I had never put in much thought about a specific instance of the cold, calculated violence I mentioned in that post, but it came pretty readily to mind as I considered what could happen and what I could do in response. There is something to be said for letting the Justice Department have its go at a Goblin. There is very much indeed in favor of letting God have his own vengeance. But there is also something sleeping inside every macho. Do yourself a favor, and don't wake it up!


********

In related news, I found out in the course of casual conversation last March that, in contrast to Eliot Spitzer's wife, mine is a genuine woman. You know, one whose husband stands a good chance of never being found once he is caught cheating on her.

Just sayin'.

H.R. 45: The 80 Million Criminal Gun Owners Act

or, Blair Holt's Firearm Licensing and Record of Sale Act of 2009

A crazy person did something illegal with a gun in one state

Somebody died for no reason

So now, because, you know, guns can be traded in interstate commerce, we'll just go ahead and assume that they will be at some future date, and we're going to go ahead and require you to register them now, mmmkay?

Hold on there.

A certain number of weapons in the VFD arsenal have paperwork associated with them, from when I bought them from FFL's, which points directly at me. A certain number do not. If there is a requirement to register all or any of them, this requirement will not be met. I will be a criminal and that's a 100% guarantee.

Why?

Because somebody broke a law that was already on the books.

and

Because the school bus driver was disarmed by statute. Israel responded properly, and their school bus drivers are armed. If this driver had been armed, the child who died, would not have done.

We need MORE guns in MORE citizens' hands. We do NOT need more criminals who have done nothing besides sit on their easy chairs watching their stories, while a .38 revolver that has been in the couch cushion for years sits there harming nobody.

Go on, it's short, read the whole bill. To save you the trouble looking it up, a qualifying firearm may be read "any firearm".

This is the naked face of a tyrant waiting for his opportunity to arise and protect you from yourself. the Juden had to wear a patch to identify themselves. Do you gun owners want to do the same? If this becomes law, it will be overturned by the supreme Court or the country is finished. But by then, the most law-abiding of gun owners will have put their names on the list and you can bet your boots that list will not be destroyed. If it is not overturned, by the way, Congress is free to do anything they want to control your life, completely without restriction. Since people engage in interstate commerce, why not make us all wards of the state and regulate us into 100% bliss?

This is not the purpose of the federal government of the United States. This is a blatant power grab by someone who needs to be voted out of office.

For now, this is a "watch" and not a "warning" as there are no co-sponsors. Most bills don't even make it out of committee. Let's hope the good People of Illinois will take heed and kick this [deleted] out of office next time he's up for re-election. The Congressman has a Blog and I left a comment about this bill. Let's see if it ever gets published.

9mm AR Pistol. . . Seriously?



Seriously? You've got to be kidding me.

Michael Bane and I part ways pretty sharply on this one. A short-barreled AR, for a pistol cartridge, okay maybe I can go with you that far. But when it is 60% as large as a regular rifle, for a small fraction of the firepower, and there isn't even a buttstock for you to mount to your shoulder, you've lost me. The only thing I can see this being good for is to mark a box on the "ALL CALIBERS" checklist of AR conversions.

Thursday, February 5, 2009

I Told You This Would Happen. It Will Get Worse.

If the country is still in a position to borrow money from strangers, the credit card companies are going to line up for the next billion dollars from you to pay them back for loans that your next door neighbor took out and they can't afford to have defaulted on. To the tune of around a trillion more dollars. Already the rumblings of increasing defaults are getting louder

Pretty soon, we'll be talking about real money.