Thursday, February 4, 2010

Cuba to Confiscate Register More Guns

Cuba wants to offer an amnesty. Not for illegal capitalists, but for illegal guns. The funny-if-it-weren't-so-serious quote of the day:
There was no explanation for why the drive to legalize unlicensed weapons is coming now, though the state-run news agency Prensa Latina said the move grew out of a November 2008 law regulating possession of guns and ammunition.

Hello? The people of Cuba have personal, first-hand experience with this. What do you mean, "no explanation?" They will deny guns to the politically incorrect, and later they will create a reason to confiscate them from the politically correct.

The only reason to register guns is as a pretext for confiscating them from the law-abiding.

If you read the linked article, two political opponents of the Castro regime died while you were reading it. Why do YOU think they don't want civilians to own guns? Oh, by the way, democrats in several US States are gunning for (or have got) laws "regulating possession of guns and ammunition" . . . why do you think that might be?

Hat tip: Uncle.

This is Not A Tough Vote.

House faces tough vote on $1.9 trillion more debt

Excuse me for noticing, but this is only a tough vote if

  • You have no idea how economics work and therefore should not be in Congress
    or
  • You are beholden to special interest groups and therefore should not be in Congress

    Sorry for making such a lengthy, intellectually difficult post for you people first thing in the morning.
  • Wednesday, February 3, 2010

    A Gentle Lesson Indeed

    I know that God has a way of teaching people some lessons the hard way, so I pray for my lessons to be easy on me.

    My recent lesson, I thought, was going to affect the household budget to the tune of about 1/2 day's pay. Then the utility bills came last night. They add up to about 1/2 day's pay less than usual.

    Thanks Jesus!

    Tuesday, February 2, 2010

    Reuters Retracts Story On Pressure From Obama Administration

    Oh well, I'm sure it was nothing important anyway. I mean, the middle class didn't NEED that $1Trillion did they? What, you didn't hear about it? Oh, it was nothing, really. . . I mean, why else would the story be withdrawn?

    In case you really didn't hear about it, here's a link with the full text of the story . . . get it while it lasts. The birth certificate controversy taught us that Obama's people are good at scrubbing information off the face of the Internet . . . .

    I wish I had the time to fact check the original story. Does anyone know if anybody went to the trouble already?

    Don't Ask, Don't Tell Is GOOD Policy.*

    Chairman Mullen says regarding the DADT policy: "we have in place a policy that forces young men and women to lie about who they are"

    Bullshit

    It requires them to not come out and tell god-and-everybody they enjoy doing things that ought not to be done.

    What you do with your jimmy is not 100% of your personality, if you are a normal person with a sound mind. If it is so all-consuming a part of your ever-lovin' self that EVERYONE YOU KNOW must know what you like to do with your jimmy, you have bigger problems than what you do with your jimmy. Mental problems, of the sort that only Jesus can fix.

    Don't Ask/Don't Tell is a fairly good way to weed out those persons who are so mentally-disordered that they cannot contain their sexual proclivities to off-hours clandestine action like their 'breeder' brothers-in-arms. If a man is schtupping his LT's wife and HAS TO blab about it, he is also unfit for service.

    I had never given this serious thought but the conventional arguments around the topic always bothered me. Anti-DADT types tend to be (in my experience) either flamers or rather soft in the head. I never could come up with anything much more than a "What? Who thinks that?" when they erect the straw-man of potential retribution/assaults against queers in the service. Finally it occurred to me: DADT puts a mental check on people who need to be able to deal with mental checks. If you just can't refrain from telling your sergeant you suck [deleted]s, how can we be sure you will be stable under non-peacetime conditions NOT involving your junk? If you're too crazy to keep your crazies to yourself, you NEED to not be in the trenches. It's not that we couldn't deal with the ickyness of serving alongside a friggen homo (other countries' soldiers do so w/ no problem). . .

    It's that you HAVE TO come out that's the problem, not that you're out.
    ********

    *if we must have a policy at all. Frankly, if we are not going to have an official state church and we refuse to stick to even a basic set of morals, as long as you can keep it zipped up on-duty AND it doesn't interfere with your duties (neither is necessarily a guarantee, by the way) then we, as a country, don't have much of a basis for saying anything one way or another about what you do with your fiddly bits.**

    **Longest sentence of the YEAR!

    KE Finally Got His 15 Minutes

    One of the guys that used to work where I work was fired for having . . . enthusiastic personality traits. The lawyers won't let us say that he was hi on meth half the time, but some of us have our suspicions. Anyway, he made it into the local paper! Unfortunately for him, that paper was Busted! in Austin.

    One of the men still working here was wondering what you would have to do to be arrested for a "traffic violation." I told him "It's KE, are you really surprised? The fellow shut his mouth and walked away -there was nothing else to say, really.

    Do Want: Para GI Expert 1911 in STAINLESS!



  • 1911: Good!
  • Caliber .45ACP: Good!
  • (count 'em) 9 Rounds of .45ACP: VERY Good!
  • Weight: well . . .
  • Price: $700 is a Bizzargain.

    Valentines day is just around the corner and you already know what I want, so . . .
  • Monday, February 1, 2010

    A Sex Tape? SRSLY?!

    The Breck Girl had a sex tape? And he wanted to be President? What a piece of work, GAWD! And you thought Obama was an empty suit. You were right, but wow what a piece of work Edwards is turning out to be!

    This is the caliber of men running for high elected office in the United States of America today.

    What are you going to do about it?

    Public School OFA Recruitment!

    You know who else liked to sign school children up for his private army?

    That's right. His private army* is setting up recruiting centers under the watchful eye of your government "schools" and your precious snowflake will soon be turning you in to the beautiful leader for not being sufficiently loyal to him.

    What are you going to do about it?

    ********

    *Of course it's not an army yet. Come on now!

    Ugly Words.

    You would like to blow up children in a park if you don't think unions should be able to intimidate you into silence.

    You would like to murder 2 million people if you want your country to be ruled by the rule of law.

    This is the state of political discourse in the United States of America. What are you doing about it?