Friday, July 3, 2009

Madness @ Work!

          Once upon a time, a dude who used to work here, whose parents were Mexican, was in the back room. Flying through the door/flaps on what we lovingly refer to as "the clown car," honking the horn, came a dude who worked here whose great-great-something-grandparents came from Africa. Tan dude says to brown dude: "Get yo' jigaboo ass outta here!"

          Both then said: "HA-HA!"

          I related this story to Cleaning Dude and WS, overhearing, said I shouldn't tell the story to anyone, even as an anecdote. He was very concerned about the possible effect on continued employment.
          I told him this isn't 5th grade and I don't say "the J word" and "the N word" and "the F word".
          WS said "yes you do, you just said it!"
          I said, "No, I don't say "the F word" I say FUCK!".
          WS then challenged me to tell the story to the big man (BM) who works here, whose great-great-something-grandparents also came from Africa. I laughed and declined.

          So of course, WS tells BM as he walks by that I have a story for him. I had just finished typing this post, up to "HA-HA!" and had BM read it. I told him who the principals were, and he said
          "oh yeah, [brown guy who was called jigaboo] was all the time sayin' "jigaboo."
          BM walked away, laughing about the whole affair.

          WS said "I stand corrected."

L
O
L

Why yes, it is a small company, why do you ask?

Sweden Shoots Self In Wallet, Film At Eleven!

Sweden is now STEALING. The interest rates on deposits has gone NEGATIVE. Keeping capital in the bank is a 100% guarantee of LOSS.

There should be a run on Swedish banks and capital flight out of the country. Let us hope and pray it happens before Bernanke decides it's a great idea.

Thursday, July 2, 2009

After-Action Report: 02 July 2009

We were out in the backyard, with the children splashing in a wading pool, and I saw a pigeon alight on the phone lines. I heard the little voice you should always heed saying to get my Daisy, and I did. I loaded it, set the safety, and waited. Sure enough, some more birds came up and settled on the line right by our yard. Shot. Hit. Flop. Bounce off the top of the fence. DRT. Couple of near misses on moving birds (scope never got finished sighting-in, oops!) and then my Darling Wife came over for some trigger time when I set up an empty water bottle. She was chasing it pretty good, and was aiming for a shot at the bottle when I took the rifle from her and put some more air in it. A pigeon had just landed on the wire straight in front of the firing line (and 30 feet up, call it 20yds) Shot. Flapping/falling through the trees. Shot on the ground. 3 more flaps, DRT. More water bottle shooting ensued, then we all went in for supper. We left the birds to be supper for the cats or opossum or whatever cleans up back there.

Of course, after we went inside for supper, a half-dozen of them came and roosted on the wires. A near miss literally scared the poop out of one of them, but then they flew off. Not as much fun as seeing them fall, but just so long as they're not crapping up my land, that's fine.

BOHICA: Obamacare Proposals Nearing Submission.

The article is not nearly as harsh as every article about Obamacare should be, but at least the headline is catchy:

Senate bill fines people refusing health coverage

Here's a response to an article Yahoo! snagged from AP. Reading the article not necessarily required:

Fines if you don't get "affordable" health care payment insurance. Because we know better than you do, how you should spend your hard-earned money. Even if you are young, healthy as a horse, and rich, you MUST pay up. If you have children who are also healthy, you must pay MORE. Because WE say.

Insurance for healthcare payments just like car insurance. Because it's a privelege to drive and . . . it's . . . a privelege to . . . live? Currently, you can go to the hospital and get FREE health care, by federal law.

Now, you WILL HAVE TO pay up an extra $10,000 because your children might get sick. And none of your personal wealth, family wealth, or the charity of the people who love you will possibly cover the expenses. You MUST buy an insurance plan for them. Because WE say. Sure you'll still have to pay for office visits. Nevermind that's all you ever pay now. You MUST spend the money on an insurance plan, because WE say.

Barry wants a bill that would provide coverage for the nearly 50 million americans who lack insurance for health care expenses.

No, you don't need to think about how this bill would cost 26 million people their current plans (dumped on the probably-much-worse government plan), and ignore how it ONLY covers an additional 17 Million people, leaving 36 million without insurance still. Sure it's fuzzy math. Ask them for details of the plan if you want specifics. Oh, there are no specifics and your Elected Heroes in Congress intend to vote on it without reading the bill? Oh, that's alright then.

The idea is for the government (with the guns to enforce its own advantage) to compete with barely-profitable private enterprises soon to be crushed with disadvantageous regulations. Sure, there will continue to be a private option. Right. Sure. Keep saying that, maybe someone will believe you.

The bill is indeed a "historic reform of health care." It will turn us into UK, Canada, and Cuba, complete with DENIAL of CRITICAL services, FATALLY LONG wait times for necessary care, and rationing of what you can still get. That's just exactly what we need.

The cost is down to 1.3 Trillion dollars, down from 1.6 trillion out of taxpayers' pockets, whoopdee doo! Sure, let's mention as an aside that the same government [deleted]s that have COMPLETELY BANKRUPTED MEDICARE will probably run the costs for this fiasco through the roof, but let's bury it right near the end of the article, then change the subject.

Somebody tell me why, exactly, people in the health care insurance industry should be forced to labor without profit? Oh, that's right, profit is icky if your a [deleted] COMMUNIST!

This thing about pre-existing conditions needs to be put in perspective, because you are government-educated and you don't understand why an insurance company shouldn't just go ahead and cover you no-matter-what. Here's an analogy:

You call an automobile insurance agency and they agree to insure a car you just bought. Fine, good, here's your policy. Then you say, "Oh, and you will fix the front end damage, right?" They say "what damage?" and you say "the damage that happened before I signed this new policy!" They laugh at you. Why should a health insurance policy underwriter pay to fix your cancer you had BEFORE the policy was written? They shouldn't! Sucks to be you, pal!

Blah blah HIGHER TAXES AND LESS SERVICES is part of the pitch right from the start, and the bills aren't even proposed yet! Oh I'm sure the taxes won't be so high, and the services so far reduced as you think, surely it's all political grandstanding. Right. Then why do Canadians come here to pay their own money for health care? Because socialized medicine FAILS to provide good care. It doesn't matter how you sell it or who is president, this will NOT WORK!

Madness @ Work!

Overheard conversation at my workplace:

TS: This thing's busted!
VFD: I told you it was busted, but you don't listen, just like my mother!
JS: Mothers don't have to listen.
VFD: They do to their husbands, or else Crazy New Daddy goes POW!
(all): LOL

Why yes, it is a small business, why do you ask?

AR Ate My Neck Tie!

I hafta stop forgetting to post funny stories. A while back, a man was showing me some new hardware, and a new-to-him Bushmaster AR was one of the pieces. Of course the first thing I did was to check the chamber, and when I let fly the charging handle, my (silk, thank you) tie got snagged and stuck between the upper & the handle! A little tug on the handle and the tie was free, but it was pretty funny at the moment. . . . I guess you had to be there.

Now they need to put a warning on the case of a new rifle: Warning! Watch out your tie doesn't get stuck when you go to kill a nursery full of innocent little (For The) Children!

He also had 3 magazines for his new rifle. Green followers. I poked down on the front of the follower and (unsurprisingly) it jammed in the magazine crooked. I showed it to him and mentioned he might want to consider purchasing some anti-tilt followers. That failure mode was new and surprising to him, so I reduced and duplicated it a couple more times just to demonstrate it's not a show-stopper.

Wednesday, July 1, 2009

Get Your Guns While You Can.

While you still can, buy guns. Buy pistols and fighting rifles. Also: don't forget to stockpile at LEAST a couple thousand rounds of ammunition PER GUN.

Why? I thought the Obamamania Gun Buying Rush was over? He's not even going to try to ban them (this year). What's the rush?

Koh.

Harold Hongju Koh is possibly about to be appointed by the Senate to a position in the Obama State Department giving him influence over US laws by applying international law through treaty agreements. Remember: treaties trump the Constitution. All it takes is one Senate vote on a treaty and your Second Amendment means BUPKIS.

Koh is against private gun ownership, and an advocate of applying "international norms" to the U.S.A. "International norms" like, no guns in private hands. ::Reasonable Socialist Explanation Voice:: Then, you see, if we sign a treaty which prevents you owning your own guns, the President would be forced to take them from you. He would have no choice, you see?

You can bet President Obama would be publicly reluctant to take your guns. But don't you think for a second that he wouldn't.

It CAN happen here.

It is up to YOU to see it DOESN'T happen here. It's time for a Melt-The-Switchboard campaign at the US Senate. Will it happen? That depends on whether or not you call your Elected Heroes tomorrow.

********
Hat tip to Alphecca. More detail on Koh in the NRA's latest America's First Freedom.

********
Somehow I missed that he's already been confirmed. Get 'em while the getting's good folks.

Not Fired, Great Success!

I spent my break this morning working :( because I wanted to get a clear answer about company computers & personal internet usage. I asked Da Man(agement) and the advice I got was: personal use (as long as it's Safe For Work type) is ok on breaks & lunch, but they keep a log of the total time a page is loaded. So instead of keeping a page on an inactive tab and leaving it up until a break, I'll go ahead and copy/paste the URL into a text document I always have open for work-related note taking.

Change: not so much. OK thanks boss!

Tuesday, June 30, 2009

Man With Gun Nearly Kills Boy In North Austin!

Earlier tonight, a young boy reported seeing a man with a gun. The man was seen by the boy while the boy was riding his bicycle up and down the street in front of his house in Pflugerville, a Northeastern suburb of Austin. Despite passing by the man several times, the boy was not killed, or even injured, by the gun. The boy's parents report that none of the encounters between the man and the boy resulted in any injuries.

~or~

I had my Glock on my hip in a high-visibility (mostly YELLOW) holster pretty much all afternoon today. That includes the few hours I spent in the garage fabricating a set of bookshelves for #1's room to suit my Darling Wife's specifications. The kid who lives across the street was riding his bike up and down both sides of the street (on the sidewalk) and I noticed one time he was having a pretty hard stare at my hip. Another time, I told him, "Hi, Ant!" and he gave me his usual non-response. I know it's hard to believe, but the gun did NOT just jump right out of the holster and start shooting everyone. I mean, even when my Darling Wife had #1, #2, AND #3 out in the garage watching me work, NOBODY was shot! Can you imagine?

Monday, June 29, 2009

Obama: Your True Colors Are Showing, And They're RED.

An abortionist is murdered and the next day there is genuine outrage from the white house. An American soldier is murdered and another soldier is injured in an obvious islamist-religion-motivated attack in the US mainland, and we hear from the white house . . . crickets.

Iran, a country headed by a repressive islamic regime, had an election for President. It was obvious from the first DAY after the election that the incumbent stole the election. The citizenry took to the streets in protest by their hundreds of thousands. President Obama says he doesn't want to "meddle". It takes TWO FULL WEEKS, hundreds of murders and thousands of unjust imprisonments by the Iranian government (against political protesters) before Obama reads off the Teleprompter in a straight deadpan monotone that he is 'outraged.'

Israel, a democratic, tolerant, inclusive, FREE nation seeking only peace with neighbors whose stated goal is to wipe it off the map because it's full of Jooooooos, responds to indiscriminately murderous violence against its citizenry with surgical strikes against the people doing the killing. Surgical in this case means a few civilians die because they allow terrorists to hide in their midst. Obama tells BB to knock it off. He also refuses to acknowledge Israel's right to claim land they won in a war that the former landholding nations STARTED.

And now, in Honduras. . . . The President, a communist dictator tried to rewrite the constitution according to his own whim. The courts forbade the army from implementing the "new" constitution [see update, below]. The Army did the right thing (finally) and arrested the dictator and kicked him out of the country in his pajamas. What else could he do? President Obama the next day speaks out in support of the deposed dictator, and a chorus of voices from the lovers of justice joins him. You know, people like (socialist) Secretary Clinton, and (communists) Fidel Castro and Hugo Chavez.

You don't have to ask Obama whose side he is on. If you understood what I just wrote, it's plain as day whose side he is on. His own words to the contrary notwithstanding, it ain't our side.

********

The friend of my enemy is my _______.

********

Is this the change you were hoping for?

********

Update: I posted the above from memory. Uncle points us to a post by DirtCrashr describing more accurately what happened. It also shows the real reason Obama is so swift to react against the actions of the Legislative, Judicial, and Military branches of the Honduras government: he doesn't much care for proper checks on Executive power and this was the ultimate check on an executive.